Enter your email address (username) and password here in order to log in to the website.



New Job Announcement:

Professor in Japanese Studies, The University of Melbourne



New Job Announcement:

[Deadline: November 15th] Assistant Professor in Japanese or Korean Art History or Architectural History at The University of British Columbia



New Fellowship Announcement:

[Deadline: October 31] The 9th Hakuho Foundation Japanese Research Fellowship



New Call for Papers announcement:

Conference: "Japan and Europe in Global Communication"



New Exhibition announcement:

"Namban lacquer: Japan remained in Spain. 400 years after the Keichô Embassy".



New Japanese Conference announcement:

2013 Conference of the International Association for Japanese Studies (IAJS)



As of May 6th 2013, the EAJS Office has a new address.



Announcement of the venue of the 15th International Conference of the EAJS in 2017: Lisbon, Portugal

By the deadline of July 30, 2014, six bids were received to host the 15th International Conference of the EAJS in 2017. All bidders presented their bid to the EAJS Council during the conference in Ljubljana. There was a number of very strong bids, but the Council eventually decided on Lisbon, Portugal, as the venue of the next conference, after carefully scrutinizing and discussing each of the bids.



Announcement on Results of 2014 EAJS Council Election

This summer, all EAJS members were asked to elect the new EAJS Council for 2014-2017. The results are as follows:


Prof Dr Bjarke FRELLESVIG                                                             178 votes
Blank                                                                                                     20

Prof Dr Bjarke FRELLESVIG is elected.


Prof Dr Verena BLECHINGER-TALCOTT                                           184 votes
Blank                                                                                                     14

Prof Dr Verena BLECHINGER-TALCOTT is elected.


Dr Laura MORETTI                                                                           173 votes
Blank                                                                                                       25

Dr Laura MORETTI is elected.

Candidates for the Extended Council

Prof Dr John BREEN                                                                           24 votes
Dr Andrea GERMER                                                                           21 votes
Prof Dr Andrej BEKEŠ                                                                        15 votes
Prof Dr Michael KINSKI                                                                    
  15 votes
Prof Dr Urs Matthias ZACHMANN                                                        15 votes
Dr Anna ANDREEVA                                                                          14 votes
Prof Dr Raji C. STEINECK                                                                   14 votes
Dr Nataša VISOČNIK                                                                         14 votes
Dr Dick STEGEWERNS                                                                     13 votes
Dr Jan SÝKORA                                                                                10 votes
Dr Kristin SURAK                                                                                8 votes
Prof Dr Ellen VAN GOETHEM                                                              6 votes
Prof Dr Yulia MIKHAILOVA                                                                  6 votes
Prof Dr Dimitry STRELTSOV                                                                5 votes
Dr Georg SIPOS                                                                                 4 votes
Prof Dr Anca FOCSENEANU                                                               3 votes
Blank                                                                                                       1

According to the constitution, the extended Council may consist of up to six members. Because a parity of votes occurred, the then president of the EAJS, Professor Rein RAUD, based on Paragraph 6 (4) of the EAJS constitution, cast his decisive vote for the candidate Dr. Anna ANDREEVA. Therefore, Dr Anna ANDREEVA, Prof Dr Andrej BEKEŠ, Prof Dr John BREEN, Dr Andrea GERMER, Prof Dr Michael KINSKI and Prof Dr Urs Matthias ZACHMANN are elected.


 If you would like to post a news announcement, please contact the EAJS office.